Cheese

Hi Rabbi,

I wanted to know what cheeses usually do not contain rennet for restaurants. I believe mozerella is usually rennet free and cream cheese/yogurts /cottage is fine but wondering about others such as cheddar and swiss. Would this need to be asked of every restaurant to verify that they have rennet free products or are their cheeses that would be considered kosher?

Thank you!

One Reply to “Cheese”

  1. Ask if “vegetarian.” Cheese with animal rennet is not vegetarian.
    It’s hard to say which cheeses would never have animal rennet.

Leave a Reply