Oreo Mcflurry

Hey I was wondering about the kashrut regarding a milkshake from Mcdonalds. Ingredients listed from website are as follows Vanilla Reduced Fat Ice Cream Ingredients: Milk, Sugar, Cream, Corn Syrup, Natural Flavor, Mono And Diglycerides, Cellulose Gum, Guar Gum, Carrageenan, Vitamin A Palmitate. Contains: Milk. Oreo Cookie Pieces Ingredients: Unbleached Enriched Flour (wheat Flour, Niacin, […]

Starbucks vegetarian options

Is the Starbucks impossible sandwich and feta cheese wrap  kosher? Impossible sandwich Ingredients SESAME CIABATTA BUN [ENRICHED WHEAT FLOUR (FLOUR, NIACIN, REDUCED IRON, THIAMINE MONONITRATE, RIBOFLAVIN, FOLIC ACID), WATER, SESAME SEEDS, EGGS, DURUM WHEAT SEMOLINA, SUGAR, SUNFLOWER OIL, BUTTER (MILK), SALT, PAPRIKA, MALTED BARLEY FLOUR, YEAST, CULTURED WHEAT STARCH, MICROBIAL ENZYMES (AMYLASE)], FRIED EGG PATTY […]

Rice Sushi

Hi , just saw in older posts that sushi rice in restaurants is a problem for bishul akum, the question is, since we know its made in steam (many times even electric), and its not mevushal by being “boiled” like regular rice, why can’t we rely in the psak of “meushan” (smoked)? since we know […]

Cheese

Hi Rabbi, I wanted to know what cheeses usually do not contain rennet for restaurants. I believe mozerella is usually rennet free and cream cheese/yogurts /cottage is fine but wondering about others such as cheddar and swiss. Would this need to be asked of every restaurant to verify that they have rennet free products or […]

Chinese Restaurants

Eating at a non-kosher Chinese restaurant can be difficult. Culturally they’re often not as forthcoming on clarifying what is or is not vegetarian. Often they’re mom and pop operations and possibly there’s a trust issue. but let’s say you get past all that and you go to a chain store or a larger more established […]

Eating Italian

Here’s a typical Italian menu. The biggest issues at Italian restaurants are confirming that everything that you will eat is vegetarian, especially the renet in the cheese. You can ask the waiter and if he’s not 100% sure, have him ask the chef. Be aware that many people mistakenly think that cheese with animal renet […]

Eating Fish out

Most observant jews that travel on business will eat fish at restaurants, often without knowing how to do it right and thus with a side order of guilt.  Here are the issues. Bishul Akum for one. (Cooking of a non-Jew). Any of the fishes that are eaten raw in sushi, would not be a problem. […]