Comments on: Vinegar as ingredient when marked gluten free. https://kashrut.org/vinegar-as-ingredient-when-marked-gluten-free/ Keeping Kosher without all the pain Tue, 12 Apr 2022 23:03:05 +0000 hourly 1 https://wordpress.org/?v=6.7.1 By: Aaron Abadi https://kashrut.org/vinegar-as-ingredient-when-marked-gluten-free/#comment-2811 Tue, 12 Apr 2022 23:03:05 +0000 https://kashrut.org/?p=10115#comment-2811 That’s a bit of a pain in the neck.

Here’s the general rule. If you’re not sure, then post it.

“Vinegar” listed plain without distilled or other words, is fine.

distilled vinegar that is the third ingredient or later on the ingredients panel, is also fine.

Obviously, wine vinegars, apple cider, etc, are fine.

If either of the first two ingredients are distilled vinegar, then you want to know the source. Unfortunately, they approve vinegars as gluten free even from wheat.
I go onto the celiac websites, where they find out the actual source of the vinegar, corn, wheat, apple, etc.

]]>