Q & A Board - View Post
 
Author:  Eli
E-mail:  not available
Date:  3/20/2011 8:13:00 PM
Subject:  Brandy, Cognac and Bourbon for Passover
Message:  Hello Rabbanim,
Firstly, chag Purim same'ach, as it's still Purim as I'm typing this.

I was wondering if cognac and bourbon are kosher for Passover for Sepharadim?
I'd assume cognac would be, as it's made from grapes, and I've seen you permit Remy Martin in general, but I wanted to be certain it's ok for Passover.
I was also wondering about bourbon whiskey. I know a lot of bourbons are made from corn mash, but I'm not sure if that's 100% corn, or if they typically use other grains. Do you know if there are any permissible bourbons, or whiskeys/whiskies (regardless of the countries) in general?

Thank you very much, and I appreciate that your site provides a wonderful service. Shavuah tov u'mevorach
   
Reply:  I don't know. Check online for some brands that look ok, forward to me and I'll try to confirm.
AA

Back to the Q & A Board