Q & A Board - View Post
 
Author:  sharon
E-mail:  not available
Date:  7/2/2009 10:48:00 AM
Subject:  re:Sushi and Rice Vinegar
Message:  Was this in reference to eating sushi at an establishment that does not have certification?

Message:        Dear Rabbi,

I realized that, in order to give solidity to the rice used in sushi rolls, rice vinegar is used. Most of the rice vinegars I checked have alchool inside. Is this a problem?

I just did a research in the webiste under sushi and rice vinegar and I did not find this issue addressed, most likely because it is not an issue, but I would like to hear what you think.

Thanks,

David
     
Reply:      No problem. Except possibly on Passover.
AA
   
Reply:  Yes. But you need to watch out for non-kosher fish and for Rice which is Bishul Akum. So it is not simple to eat Sushi in a non-KOsher place.
AA

Back to the Q & A Board