Machine made wine

If a wine is completely machine-made, can it be kosher without a hechsher? (I’m asking because kosher-certified wines are quite expensive here, sometimes double the price of their non-hechshered counterparts.) Thank you Rabbi, for everything you do. We’re very happy the website is up and running again. Chazak U’varuch!

Chinese Restaurants

Eating at a non-kosher Chinese restaurant can be difficult. Culturally they’re often not as forthcoming on clarifying what is or is not vegetarian. Often they’re mom and pop operations and possibly there’s a trust issue. but let’s say you get past all that and you go to a chain store or a larger more established […]

Gelatin

Everyone asks about gelatin, how can you say that products are kosher if they contain gelatin?! The answer is that although today’s kashrut industry policies consider gelatin a problem since its usually made from meat, in truth and from Halacha it’s not a problem. There’s a famous ruling from the Achiezer (RAV Chaim Ozer ) […]

First Street Raisin Bran

Hi Rabbi, Is this kosher? Ings: Whole wheat, raisins, wheat bran, sugar, brown sugar syrup, salt, barley malt extract. Vitamins & Minerals: Potassium chloride, iron (ferric orthophosphate), vitamin A (palmitate), niacinamide, zing (zinc oxide), vitamin D (cholecalciferol), vitamin B1 (thiamine mononitrate), VItamin B12 (cyanocobalamin), vitamin B2 (riboflavin), vitamin B6 (pyridoxine hydrochloride), folic acid. Thank you.

Eating Italian

Here’s a typical Italian menu. The biggest issues at Italian restaurants are confirming that everything that you will eat is vegetarian, especially the renet in the cheese. You can ask the waiter and if he’s not 100% sure, have him ask the chef. Be aware that many people mistakenly think that cheese with animal renet […]